Faculty and Staff

HEI faculty and staff are a diverse group representing a wide array of disciplines, perspectives and backgrounds. We are united in our commitment to research, practice and policy that foster health equity:

HEI Core Team 


 

Jesus Ramirez-Valles, PhD MPH

Director

Email: jrv@sfsu.edu

     
Allen LeBlanc

 

Allen LeBlanc, PhD

Professor of Sociology

Email: aleblanc@sfsu.edu

 

Jason Chang

 

Jason Chang, MS  

Statistical Analyst

Email: ykjason@sfsu.edu

 

Charmayne Hughes, PhD

 

Charmayne Hughes, PhD

Associate Professor of Kinesiology

Email: cmhughes@sfsu.edu

  

Laura Mamo

 

Laura Mamo, PhD

Associate Director/Professor of Health Education

Email: lmamo@sfsu.edu

 

Sepideh Modrek  

 

 Sepideh Modrek, PhD

Assistant Professor of Economics

Email: smodrek@sfsu.edu 

 

 

  

Mirna Vasquez

 

Mirna Vasquez, MA

Administrative Coordinator

Email: hei@sfsu.edu

 

Jessica Wolin

 

Jessica Wolin, MPH, MCRP

Associate Director of Community Practice 

Email: jwolin@sfsu.edu

 

 

 

Affiliate Faculty

 

Alison Cerezo

 

Alison Cerezo
Assistant Professor of Counseling

 

 

Anoshua Chaudhuri

 

Anoshua Chaudhuri
Professor of Economics, College of Business
anoshua@sfsu.edu
website: http://online.sfsu.edu/anoshua/

 

Steve Choe

 

Steve Choe
Associate Professor of Cinema
stevec3@sfsu.edu
website: http://cinema.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/steven-choe

 

Carmen Domingo

 

Carmen Domingo
Professor of Biology
cdomingo@sfsu.edu
website: http://biology.sfsu.edu/people/carmen-domingo

 

Courtney Donovan

 

Courtney Donovan
Associate Professor of Geography and Environmental Science
cdonovan@sfsu.edu
website: http://geog.sfsu.edu/person/courtney

 

Jessica Fields

 

Jessica Fields
Professor of Sociology and Sexuality Studies
jfields@sfsu.edu
website: http://sociology.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/jessica-fields

 

Melissa Hagan

 

Melissa Hagan
Assistant Professor of Psychology
mjhagan@sfsu.edu
website: http://www.sfsustarlab.com/

 

Colleen Hoff

 

Colleen Hoff
Professor of Sexuality Studies
Director of the Center for Research and Education on Gender and Sexuality
choff@sfsu.edu
website: http://cregs.sfsu.edu/about-us/whoweare/colleen-hoff/

 

Martha Kenney

 

Martha Kenney
Assistant Professor of Women and Gender Studies
mkenney@sfsu.edu
website: http://wgsdept.sfsu.edu/people/25283/martha-kenney

 

 

Wen-Wen Li
Associate Professor of Nursing
wenwenli@sfsu.edu
website: http://www.nursing.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/wen-wen-li

 

Leticia Magaña-Marquez

 

Leticia Magaña-Marquez
Professor of Biology
SF BUILD Lead Principal Investigator and Core Leader
marquez@sfsu.edu
website: http://sfbuild.sfsu.edu/content/leticia-márquez-magaña

 

Rita Melendez

 

Rita Melendez
Associate Professor of Sexuality Studies
rmelende@sfsu.edu
website: http://sxs.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/rita-melendez

 

Raquel Pinderhughes

 

Raquel Pinderhughes
Professor of Urban Studies and Planning
raquelrp@sfsu.edu
website: http://online.sfsu.edu/raquelrp/

 

James Quesada

 

James Quesada
Professor of Anthropology
jquesada@sfsu.edu
website: http://anthropology.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/james-quesada

 

David Rebanal

 

David Rebanal
Assistant Professor of Health Education
drebanal@sfsu.edu

 

Rori Rohlfs

 

Rori Rohlfs
Assistant Professor of Biology
rrohlfs@sfsu.edu
website: http://rohlfslab.weebly.com/

 

Emma Sanchez

 

Emma Sanchez-Vaznaugh
Associate Professor of Health Education
emmav@sfsu.edu
website: http://healthed.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/emma-sanchez-suet

 

Grace Yoo

 

Grace Yoo
Professor of Asian American Studies
gracey@sfsu.edu
website: http://aas.sfsu.edu/yoo-grace

 

Susan Zieff

 

Susan Zieff
Professor of Kinesiology
susangz@sfsu.edu
website: http://kin.sfsu.edu/people/faculty/susan-zieff

 

 

Fellows

 

Ugo Edu

 

Ugo Edu, PhD
Science, Justice and Health Equity Post-Doctoral Fellow
 

 

 

Health Equity Student Scholars 

 Student Scholars Spring 2019 coming soon

 

 

Affiliated Project Staff

To see affiliated project staff, please visit the specific project page

 

Katherine Kim, PhD, MPH, MBA

HEI Professor in Residence

Sonja Mackenzie, DrPH, MSc

Adjunct Assistant Professor