Our Team

The Health Equity Institute is co-led by a dedicated group of Health Equity Faculty who share their time with home departments across our campus departments. We are four core faculty - from sociology, public health, economics, and kinesiology, who co-lead the health equity institute's programs, education, and research.

We are joined each year by HEI Faculty Scholars supported with research-time, dedicated space, and a home-base for their health equity scholarship. HEI welcomes affiliate faculty, a volunteer base of faculty across campus, who are instrumental to the running of our programs and activities. Student scholars are selected each year for hands-on research training on affiliate faculty projects and join a professional development seminar. 

HEI is also joined by Faculty Scholarship hub fellows in the Science, Technology, and Society program. The STS Hub is an interdisciplinary effort to build research at the intersection of science studies and social justice.  

An advisory board comprising SF State faculty from across campus guides our work.

HEI Faculty

Charmayne Mary Lee Hughes, Ph.D.

Charmayne Mary Lee Hughes, Professor of Kinesiology

Allen LeBlanc, Ph.D.

Allen LeBlanc, Professor of Sociology


Laura Mamo, Professor of Public Health, Interim Director HEI

Sepideh Modrek, Ph.D.

Sepideh Modrek, Associate Professor of Economics

HEI Faculty Scholars 

Chris Hanssmann, Ph.D., MPH

Chris Hanssmann, Ph.D., MPH (now at UC Davis)

Supriya Misra

Supriya Misra, Sc.D.

HEI Affiliate Faculty

Emma Sanchez-Vaznaugh

Dr. Emma Sanchez-Vaznaugh

David Rebanal

Dr. David Rebanal 

HEI Advisory Board

David I. Anderson, Health and Social Sciences 

Carmen R. Domingo, Sciences and Engineering 

Anoshua Chaudhuri, Business  

Nhung M. Le, Ethnic Studies 

Leticia Marquez-Magana, Sciences and Engineering   

Johnny Symons, Liberal and Creative Arts